Rosebud is eight weeks old as of yesterday & will be two months on Sunday. Crazy. Just crazy. I know I keep saying that, but it’s still true.

We’re starting to venture out into the world these days, the lovey & me. Last week we went to lunch & into HobLob with minimal meltdowns. I hurried because I didn’t want to push my luck… just threw crap into my cart without checking prices & about had a coronary in the checkout line. Dude. Ouch. Our checkbook hasn’t missed me being mobile, just saying.

Then on Saturday, we went to a local farm for their fall festivities. Ate corn dogs, drove pedal cars, rode a zip line, tromped through a cornfield… your average fall festivity-type stuff. Was super-fun & the lovey had no objections to being bounced & trounced about for 3 hrs. As long as we’re armed with a bottle, we’re good. Of course, I forgot the bottle & we had turn around & go back home to get it. Yes, I did. I was so obsessed with the thought of Dunkin’s pumpkin decaf latte, that I actually FORGOT that Rose needed to eat.

Daddy joined us at the farm & started with his usual “I gotta leave soon, I can’t stay long, blahblahblah.” And then he was apparently taken over by some kind of fun-loving demon & he just completely committed himself to the ridiculousness. In one of the funniest, most atypical things I’ve ever seen, my father crawled up one of those inflatable bouncy slide things & rolled down, sending his hat & glasses flying. And Bobby videotaped it & put it on youtube. And the local news station picked up the video & my normally staid & grumpy father was featured on the 11:00 news. I laughed until I cried. The entire time he was crawling up the slide’s ladder (which took a while & involved Tom heaving him up by the buttocks), I kept waiting for him to realize that he was totally blowing his perpetual, hurried, semi-annoyed cover & revert to his normal self. But he never did. He flailed down the bouncy slide not once, but twice, drove a pedal car, jumped on this giant trampoline-like jumping pillow, rode the zip-line, lassoed a bull, & slid down a giant slide on a burlap sack (or, as he called it, a croker sack). While Maggie & Sadie were checking out the animals, one of the bunnies hopped over & jumped up on its hind legs, looking at Daddy intently with its creepy red bunny eyes. I said “Daddy, it likes you,” & he replied in a lofty tone, “Yes. Rabbits have always liked me.” I just stared at him for a second & then I burst out laughing. Who is this man, this funny, fun-loving, willing-to-make-a-fool-of-himself, rabbit-whisperer man? I like him. Let’s let him stay forever.

