Last night, we went on our annual trip to the pumpkin patch. Was struck for about the billionth time at how different things are… this time last year, Bobby & I were half-heartedly trying to get pregnant again. We were stalking Maggie & Sadie around the pumpkin patch, taking hundreds of pictures & trying not to think that our roles as only aunt & uncle might be long-term. This year, we had our own little Halloween elf.

She’s six weeks old today. In the last six weeks, we’ve come a long way. In the beginning, I was terrified that I would screw things up, stressed that I had no clue, & overwhelmed by… well, absolutely everything. But we’re figuring things out a smidge at a time through trial & error, advice, the internet, & pure dumb luck. And her big toothless smile when she looks up at me makes my heart feel like it’s going to burst out of my chest.

Jennifer has been incredible. She’s been the closest thing to Mama that I could have asked for… knowing how to step in & help, assuring me that I’m doing ok at this whole mommy thing, & loving on Rose like her Grandmama would. Bobby & I have an “Ask Jennifer” session every time we see her… we save up our questions & bombard her. She & Tom are finding it quite funny that we’re treating them like child-rearing experts. Hey, gotta get your info where you can find it, that’s all I’m saying.

A few favorite pics from last night…

