• How far along? 38 weeks, 5 days
  • Baby-related purchases? Nope.
  • Maternity clothes? Yep.
  • Sleep: I decided to try the sofa this week… wow, so much better. I don’t feel guilty for keeping Bobby awake, & for some reason, the sofa’s just more comfortable. Something about the cushions… my hips don’t hurt at all when I wake up. It’s good stuff.
  • Best moment this week: Being added to Dr OBGYN’s little black book. Realizing that September 6th is going to be a big deal, our little girl’s birthday, for the rest of our lives. Realizing that this is really actually happening. That we’re going to have a real live brand-new human in just a few days.
  • Strangest moment this week: Was walking through Target yesterday. A big redneck boy passed me… didn’t really think much about it. Suddenly he stops in his tracks & says “WHOA! You ’bout to pop, ain’tcha?!” I whirled around just in time to see the girl with him backhand him with a resounding WHAP. I laughed. I mean, what else can you do?
  • Movement: Yep, kicking like a little beast. I’m going to miss those kicks. As crazy as it sounds, I’m feeling really anxious about seeing her on the other side of the room, or being held by other people, or just not being with me. Five feet away seems like an interminable distance when I’ve felt her kicking my guts up close & personal for months. Yes, I’m getting a premature start as a psycho, controlling gatekeeper.
  • Food cravings: We went to Melting Pot tonight to celebrate our last night as a (unhospitalized) couple… The little waiter asked if we were doing anything fun for Labor Day. I replied “Well, I’m having a baby.” And then started laughing like a loon. I swear, this is really like an insane dream.
  • Gender: GIRL!!
  • Belly Button in or out? Completely smooth.
  • What I miss: My mama.
  • What I am looking forward to: Tuesday. Two days, less than 48 hrs, from now. Holding Rose for the first time. Seeing Bobby hold Rose for the first time.
  • Weekly Wisdom: If at all possible, do not, under any circumstances, have your dog’s bladder/urethra/genitalia reworked the week before you give birth. You will cry. Your dog will cry. The vet will want to cry when you stomp into his office with your bloody dog & your bloodied clothes & yell “THIS IS NOT WORKING!” You will be scary, & you will frighten everyone around you.
  • Milestones: I made it. I made it, people. My killer uterus has reinvented itself as a nurturing environment… either that, or Rose is simply too stubborn to throw in the towel. I can’t believe I… WE… made it.
  • Z4 is the size of: a pumpkin. Or a watermelon. Something big.
