• How far along? 37 weeks, 5 days
  • Baby-related purchases? Nope. The buying bug has passed for the moment.
  • Maternity clothes? Oh yes. My clothing options continue to narrow. I’m doing mini-loads of laundry & wearing the same things over & over & over. And over.
  • Sleep: Ha. Sleep is an elusive thing in this household… lots of nocturnal wandering around from bed to sofa to bathroom & back. Lots of lying awake & listening the annoying clicking sound the stupid ceiling fan has just started making. I’ve contemplated beating it with a hammer. And then last night was a highlight… we went & picked Oscar up from the vet, & ended up being up with him for most of the night. Kind of a practice run, I guess, although I probably won’t be sitting on the bedroom floor trying to coax/pull Rose out from under the bed. Or driving to the doctor’s office at 4:30am to get a “comfy cone” to prevent her from gnawing her genitals off. Yeah, last night was good times.
  • Best moment this week: The date change appt was pretty much the highlight of my week… makes it insanely real that we’re now in single digits. NINE DAYS. Dr OBGYN was in rare form, even for him, during our appt. In the last couple of weeks, he’s gone from relaxed & chill to full-force execution mode. It’s more than a little comforting to have him be so focused — I completely trust him. And that’s a good feeling.
  • Most stressful moment this week: Um, yeah. I can’t choose any specific moment… they’ve all run together into a river of snot & tears. I’ve been a big ol’ mess this week. That’s putting it mildly. Luckily, my super-smart bloggy friends have introduced me to the “P (is for Pregnancy) card” & the “H (is for Hormones) card” & instructed me to use them as needed. Ya’ll are great, really you are.  :)
  • Movement: Insane amounts. She’s probably not moving more than she has previously, but I guess she’s reached a size where I can just feel everything. I think I’m going to miss having my little friend bebopping around in there. Now that I’ve officially made it to the (almost) end of this process (really?! REALLY, I’ve made it?!?), I can say for certain that feeling her move is my favorite part of being pregnant with Rose.
  • Food cravings: Made (& ate) peanut butter cookies in the middle of the night. Figured since I was awake, I might as well do something productive. Finally fell asleep & woke up the next morning to a note from Bobby reading “Sweetie, I love you!… especially when you make cookies in the middle of the night for me to eat for breakfast.”
  • Gender: GIRL!!
  • Belly Button in or out? Completely smooth.
  • What I miss: People not flinching when they look at me… I’ve passed the point of “Oh, look at that cute pregnant person!” & firmly entered the “Oh god, poor her” pitying looks zone. At least no one has asked me if it’s twins lately. Maybe they can sense my record-setting crying potential.
  • What I am looking forward to: Meeting Rose. Seeing with my own eyes that she’s healthy & alive & real. Bringing her home & beginning the process of finding a new normal. Having time with just me, Bobby & our daughter. Knowing WHEN this is all gonna go down… dealing with ambiguity isn’t really my strong point.
  • Weekly Wisdom: Several people have asked me if I’m scared of the actual birthing process… if I’ve really thought about exactly how this ~6lb. human is going to go from being INside to being OUTside. Honestly, no & no. Yeah, it’s gonna hurt. Yeah, I’m already experiencing a level of physical discomfort & I know this is only the beginning of the travails that await me in the next 9 days. But I signed up for this — hell, I LONGED for this. For years. If I get a living, squalling, flailing baby girl at the end, bring it on. The words “so worth it” don’t even begin to touch it.
  • Milestones: Facebook status this past Tuesday. 
  • Z4 is the size of: a stalk of swiss chard?! Veggie fail, babycenter.com. There has to be a better vegetable than that. Bump.com says a watermelon… so yeah, we’re going with watermelon.
