First of all, wanna say THANK Y’ALL for your comments on my previous post. It always helps to know y’all are out there, but the advice I received actually made a discernable difference (as in improvement) in my panic level. So thank you, thank you, thank you!

  • How far along? 34 weeks, 6 days
  • Symptoms? Well now, let me tell you. As of Saturday afternoon, my crotchetory area feels like it’s been whaled upon with a baseball bat. Freakin’ ouch. It’s bruised-feeling, achy, kind of a pulling sensation… like if I jumped up & down a couple of times, Rose might just fall out with a kerplonk on her little baby head. I was a tad freaked out Saturday night, but decided not to call Dr Obgyn. Instead I consulted Dr Google, who concluded that she must have “dropped” or at least started the process — I’ve always wondered what people meant when they talked about babies dropping. And now I know. They mean that there’s a heavy little baby sitting on your innards, down in your pelvis. And you have to pee WAY, way, waywaywayway more frequently, & even after you pee, you still feel like you need to pee. Perhaps because Rose’s noggin is resting on my bladder?
  • Baby-related purchases? Bobby & I went & did the big scary we’re-almost-there shopping trip yesterday. Nursing bras, nursing tanks, nursing-appropriate pajamas, breast pump accessories (I’m replacing the plastic parts, thanks to my smart bloggy friends :), travel-size toiletries, a multitude of newborn pacifiers so Little Miss Priss can have options. I balked at buying my first bottle of Dulcolax… went to pick it up & then took a moment to think, truly THINK, about post-birth pooping & felt suddenly stricken. Bobby picked it up, threw it in the cart, & told me not to think about it…. that in this particular case, thinking serves absolutely no purpose.
  • Maternity clothes? Oh yes.
  • Sleep: I gotta say, sleep has not been overly great this week. Rolling over is big freakin’ deal. Like I’ll lay there & think about whether it’s really, truly necessary to roll over… most of the time, it’s just not worth it. And rolling over always results in a trip to the bathroom because of the constant urge to pee. It’s a convoluted process, I tell you.
  • Best moment this week: Our third (and final) baby shower was Saturday! Was hosted by Bobby’s mom & sister at the same location that I had my bridal luncheon 8+ years ago. As Bobby & I walked up, we encountered our wedding photographer who reminisced about our rainy outdoor Clemson wedding… apparently photographing a wedding in the rain makes an impression that sticks with you. It was really nice, being back in that location but for such a different reason. It took 8 years, but Bobby & I have finally (almost) met our goal of having a child. Makes me feel incredibly fortunate & so very thankful.
  • Most ridiculous moment this week:  I actually woke myself up this week SPITTING in my sleep. Like loudly blowing through my lips, with a ring of spittle around my mouth. Who DOES that in their sleep?! I looked over & Bobby was just staring at me with a mixture of awe & disgust. He told me that he feels like he’s sleeping with an animal. Sigh.
  • Movement: Yep, she’s a mover & a shaker. I felt what I think was baby hiccups for the first time this week… it was a rhythmic little jumping sensation. Funny stuff :)
  • Food cravings: I’m loving cottage cheese these days. Preferably large curd with sliced strawberries. I’ve never really liked cottage cheese, & now I’m going through two containers a week. Weird.
  • Gender: GIRL!!

    what my belly button aspires to be

  • Belly Button in or out? Out/smooth, with a lovely little starburst of stretchmarks around it. It looks like the sun-symbol-thingie in “Tangled,” but not as pretty.
  • What I miss: Walking without feeling like my girl parts are gonna fall out on the sidewalk.
  • What I am looking forward to: It probably sounds trite, but honestly? I’m looking forward to meeting Baby Girl. I want to know that she’s here safely, that she has all her fingers & toes, that she’s healthy…. & REAL. That Bobby & I actually really do have a real, live, healthy daughter.
  • Weekly Wisdom: Once I hit 30-ish weeks, the runaway train sensation really took over. There were so many times that I honestly, 100% thought that I would, ever experience this… & now I feel like I can’t keep up because it’s happening so fast. It’s wonderful, & terrifying, & although I know I’ve probably overused this word, so SURREAL.
  • Milestones: Rose’s bags are packed, & mine is close to being completed. All her laundry is caught up, her cradle & crib bedding is freshly washed, she has shelves of her own in the kitchen & linen closet, car seat bases are installed in both cars, & Bobby assembled her swing yesterday. My last biweekly appt was today… starting next week, I have weekly appts with Dr Obgyn.
  • Z4 is the size of: a cantaloupe.
