• How far along? 29 weeks, 2 days
  • Symptoms? Same ol’ stuff… except I’ve found that I suddenly am struggling to reach my feet. Like seriously can barely reach them. And painting my toenails? Ha. Perfect excuse for a pedicure, yes? Picking things up off the floor is kind of a big deal these days… when I bend, I can feel my stomach crashing into my ribs/lungs/other important organs. I sometimes just leave things down there.
  • Baby-related purchases? Signed up just a little while ago for the Tiffiney Baby Club… so freakin’ excited! Tiffiney is a photographer friend who’s incredibly talented. She was there with us at my mother’s funeral, & captured images that are irreplaceable — achingly beautiful, heartbreaking images that are among my most cherished items from that horrible time. Since then, I’ve known that if I ever had the chance to be a mother, I wanted her to help capture the happiest moments just as she captured the saddest. Her Baby Club is fabulous — covers the entire first year of Rose’s life beginning with a newborn session. So yeah, that’s a baby-related purchase that I’ve been hoping to make for quite a while…
  • Maternity clothes? Oh yes.
  • Sleep: Hips are aching despite my Snoogle’s best efforts. I wake up quite often to flip from side-to-side, which is much more complicated that it sounds. Rolling over involves a lot of hoisting & heaving. Sitting up & getting out of bed is also more involved than it once was. I actually watched a video yesterday on the “correct” way to sit up & get out of bed while pregnant. Yes, such a video does exist, & yes, I actually did watch it.
  • Best moment this week: Bobby & I have a charming communication style… we bicker & name-call, but it’s all (usually) in fun. A few nights ago, he was picking at me & I called him an asswipe. He looked ridiculously injured (considering he totally deserved it) & said indignantly “I am not an asswipe. I am The Father of Rose.” I got the giggles… and now, when he doesn’t put on his seatbelt or is acting particularly difficult, I remind him that as The Father of Rose, more is expected from him.
  • Worst moment this week: Being diagnosed with gestational diabetes was pretty much not a highlight.
  • Movement: Oh yes. She continues to waller like a little beast. I love it. I would say that feeling her bumping & thumping around in there has most definitely claimed the prize for my favorite part of pregnancy thus far.
  • Food cravings: Mind over matter, baby, mind over matter. Thanks, gestational diabetes. You’re awesome.
  • Gender: GIRL!!
  • Belly Button in or out? Actually, it’s kind of out-ish. Well, not really “out”… but when I wear knit shirts, you can see where it is. Kinda of a like a bump/indention. Weird.
  • What I miss: Putting on my underwear without falling over. Seriously. Bending over, picking up my feet, & trying to navigate my legs into panty-holes all at the same time is difficult. Doing it without losing my balance is almost impossible. I’ve taken to propping myself up against the bathroom sink. Yes, that’s just as sexy & fetching as it sounds.
  • What I am looking forward to: My diabetic education class tomorrow. If I’m gonna do this thing, I need all the information, damn it. This whole “you have it, but we’re not going to really tell you anything about it for 4 more days” thing is on my anal-retentive nerves.
  • Weekly Wisdom: Life insurance companies get all weird when you’re diagnosed with gestational diabetes. Bobby & I have been talking about getting life insurance, & now it’s become this big issue about my “condition.” Makes me feel like a leper or some other undesirable.
  • Milestones: It’s (almost) July, people! I feel a little like I’m on a runaway train… it’s a great train & it’s one I’ve been trying to get on for a while, but, dude, it’s freakin’ FLYING. I made a crazy-long “to do” list, but the fact that everything can even be encompassed by a list is amazing to me. I showed Bobby The List last night & I thought he was going to cry or have a stroke or some other unpleasantry. I’m going to save it til this weekend & he’s had a beer or two.
  • Z4 is the size of: a butternut squash.
