• How far along? 28 weeks, 5 days (or 27 weeks, 12 days)… I’m late. I blame it on the beach.
  • Symptoms? Shortness of breath, frequent peeing, weird muscle twinges & twangs from chest to knees, legs rubbing together (lovely, yes?), occasional sciatic nerve upset, inability to focus for more than 5 minutes, cankles, irrational surges of rage especially when hot. And I’ve become quite cumbersome in the last week or so… I fear I may have fallen victim to the dreaded pregnant waddle. I don’t want to waddle, but I think that this may be out of my control.
  • Baby-related purchases? Still working on the nursery, which is, by definition, made up of baby-related purchases. Am hoping to have it completely finished in the next few weeks…
  • Maternity clothes? Oh yes. I have a couple of Old Navy skirts that are non-maternity that still fit because they ride down below the belly, but everything else is firmly in the maternity category.
  • Sleep: Yep. Bobby still mocks me regularly, but I don’t much care.
  • Best moment this week: The crib bedding came in, & I adore it. It’s exactly what I wanted… classic, simple, elegant. And so incredibly well-made. When I was ironing the bedskirt, I noticed that each ruffle was perfectly, evenly tucked… the little etsy lady did a fabulous job. There’s no doubt that Mama would completely approve. Bobby & I keep walking by & staring into the room. So unbelievable that there’s a crib in our house & a little occupant will be here in just a few weeks.
  • Bobby’s shining moment this week: One night after dinner, Sadie was pitching a little baby fit & I picked her up. She was wearing only a diaper & her face & belly were covered in spaghetti (she insists on feeding herself these days). I was wearing a sloppy tshirt & yoga pants & was barefoot with no makeup. Bobby glanced up & did a double-take, said “Sweetie, you look like a destitute woman… one on the hip & one on the way.” And then I called him an ugly name, which made him laugh even harder. My husband, he’s always good for a pump to the ol’ ego.
  • Movement: Yes! I really, really love feeling her move… have to say that this is one of my favorite parts of this entire process so far. There was a day this past week that I didn’t feel her & I spazzed. Luckily I brought my trusty doppler to the beach & found her heartbeat immediately. Even at this point, the fear is never far away…
  • Food cravings: Just thirsty, thirsty, thirsty… we go to a restaurant & my water glass is empty before Bobby picks his up. Bobby has begun just sliding his over to me & trading glasses to prevent me from hating on the poor server who can’t keep up with the giant girl who’s apparently part camel.
  • Gender: GIRL!!
  • Belly Button in or out? Still smooth-ish, but not out.
  • What I miss: Not feeling self-conscious about my walk… or should I say my lumber, trudge, waddle, & plod.
  • What I am looking forward to: Getting through tomorrow’s 3-hour glucose test.
  • Weekly Wisdom: In real life, my life for the last 33 years, the calendar has been a fairly straight-forward thing. There are days, weeks, months, etc… not complicated. Pregnancy, however, changes all that. I have no idea why all the pregnancy experts can’t just sit down & get on the same page. As misfit pointed out a couple of weeks ago, 40 weeks divided by 3 trimesters is 13.33 wks, which means that 2nd tri ends at 26.66 wks. Which, if you round up, would be 27 wks. But that’s not how it works, for some strange reason. The Belly Book says the 3rd tri starts at 25 wks. Babycenter & webmd says 28 wks. So ok, I’m 28 wks. Which means that I have 12 wks left, or 3 months. But 28 divided by 4 is 7, which means I’m 7 months pregnant. And when you’re 7 months pregnant, shouldn’t you only have 2 more months to go?
  • Milestones: As of yesterday, I have my first (three) stretch marks. Well, they might have been there longer… the mirror at the beach wasn’t very big & they’re on the underside of my bulbous belly, so I didn’t spy them until we got home last night.
  • Z4 is the size of: an eggplant or a chinese cabbage… approximately 2.25 lbs & about 14 in long. The Z’s getting big, ya’ll!
