• How far along? 26 weeks, 5 days
  • Symptoms? Last week at my grandparents, I took “hot” to a whole new level. Oh. My. God. No air-conditioning. They have an indoor/outdoor thermometer, & it was 85 degrees inside, 90-something outside. And when my grandma fired up the oven every evening? Holy freaking crap. No dishwasher either, so all dishes for three meals a day are washed in scalding water. At the suggestion of a few of you kind folk, I bought a fan on the way up & aimed it directly at my bed, making the nights somewhat bearable. On several occasions, I slipped back to the bedroom to let it blow inside my clothes. So hot. So, so hot. On our last night, I kinda hit a wall… I actually wept because I was so damn hot. Yes, I sat & cried like a little baby because I was filled with despair as I melted. I knew I was being ridiculous, but I just couldn’t stop… the tears rolled down my face while the sweat ran between my boobs. What can I say? It was awesome. Oh, and I’m a camel. Jennifer actually found it laughable how few times she saw me without Solo cup in hand. I even took my drink with me to the bathroom… hell, it was hot in there too. I dearly love visiting my grandparents. I do. But if I visit again before winter, I will be taking a window unit with me & a Bobby to install it. Not even kidding.
  • Baby-related purchases? I’m making progress on the nursery. Bedding is shipping tomorrow, curtains are hung. Still lots to do, but all the big pieces are almost in place.
  • Maternity clothes? Oh yes. I’m taking the maternity bathing suit plunge this week. We’re leaving for the beach Saturday, so it’s gotta happen. Yay. Not really.
  • Sleep: I confess that I haven’t been fully appreciating my mattress. I’ve been thinking that it’s old & maybe not so great. And then I went to my grandparents & slept on another mattress in a sweltering house & discovered that my mattress in my house is actually quite lovely. I have slept beautifully since getting home on Friday. Bobby, not so much… he tells me that my snoring has reached a new level. I’ve explained to him that swollen nasal passages are a common pregnancy symptom, but it seems to provide little comfort.
  • Best moment this week: When my mama died, her (only) brother & I had a rough patch… we exchanged nasty emails, said some really hurtful things, & for a time, I thought that our relationship was irreparably severed. Gradually over the last 3.5 yrs, we’ve gotten comfortable with each other again… I don’t think it’ll ever be the same (how could it?), but we’ve come to terms with our new relationship that Mama’s not a part of. One evening this past week, I was chatting with my grandmother & Uncle Rocky walked up. Suddenly, without any warning, he reached out & gently patted my stomach & in the sweetest, gentlest tone, he said “Hey there, baby.” I felt the tears burning my eyes & I could feel Mama smiling.
  • Worst moment this week: Um, that whole weeping because I’m hot & filled with melodramatic despair thing comes to mind.
  • Movement: YES! Finally! Separate post to follow…
  • Food cravings: Beverages of all shapes & sizes, preferably large. I’ve become a frequent flyer at Sonic Drive-in during happy hour… a large watermelon limeade for a buck? Yes please.
  • Gender: GIRL!!
  • Belly Button in or out? Pretty much completely smooth… like I sort of don’t have one. Like I was hatched from an egg.
  • What I miss: Sneezing/coughing/sitting up/rolling over without my abdominal ligaments getting sassy.
  • What I am looking forward to & Weekly Wisdom: Lots of stuff. Bobby & I are taking advantage of my newly unemployed status this week & I’m tagging along with him to the mountains for a couple of nights. And then Saturday, we leave for the beach with Jen/Tom/girls for the week. Part of me is starting to freak out a little about not getting it all done… & “it” is a vague, scary collection of stuff. But I also know that I want to enjoy every second… I’m assuming that this wondrous pregnancy thing is only going to happen once for me, & while that may not be true, I need to approach it that way.  And that’s my weekly wisdom.
  • Milestones: The third trimester is knock-knock-knocking. THIRD trimester. So, so unreal & thrilling & frightening & just completely wonderful.
  • Z4 is the size of: well, the LENGTH of an English hothouse cucumber. Errr? That’s just a weird one, babycenter.com vegetable collection. She’s approximately 14 inches long & between 1.5 & 2 lbs.
