• How far along? 24 weeks, 6 days
  • Symptoms? I’m so effing hot, dude. And yes, I know it’s only gonna get worse… but the fact remains that I feel like I might be melting at some point in the very near future. I finally broke down & bought a few sports bras that fit my ever-burgeoning boobage… I’ve always been an underwire wearer, but the skin where boob & belly meet had graduated from irritated to intensely painful. Went to Target last Wednesday after work, & I was so hot & pissy that I could barely function. Picked up a few bras & a few bathing suit tops & headed for the dressing room, only to be told by the dressing room attendant that I had too many items. I glared at her with sheer venom — I knew it was irrational, & it was just policy, but I really wanted her to die. She wilted a bit in the face of my scariness & apologized… said that she would hold my other items if I wanted to trade out. I informed her scathingly that I was only taking off my clothes ONCE, tossed a couple of my items on her desk, & stalked off to seethe in the dressing room while muttering about how I was SURE that hot, sweaty, pregnant women were their worst shoplifting offenders. I knew I was acting kinda crazy…. but I was just so damn hot. And mean. And cranky.
  • Baby-related purchases? Yep. We found a perfect little Jenny Lind cradle on craig’s list for $30. Yes, THIRTY bucks… woohoo for bargains!
  • Maternity clothes? Yep. I wore a long maxi dress yesterday to church & I think it might be my new favorite thing… I’m plotting the purchase of a few more so I can rotate them for the rest of the summer.
  • Sleep: Yep. The snoogle continues to be my bff… definitely one of the best purchases I’ve made during this little adventure.
  • Best moment this week: I went to our local gardening center a few days ago, & was helped by a little guy who used to be our neighbor when Jen, Tom, Bobby & I lived in an apartment quad. We fondly called him Bird-Boy. He was chatting, asking me how I’ve been, & then suddenly focused on my stomach & yelled “WHOA! You gotta baby in there!!” with a look of shock. People’s reactions have been across the board, but that one was one of my favorites… made me laugh.
  • Worst moment this week: Cleaning the toilet. Bobby’s been really good about cleaning it, but he just doesn’t do it like I do… so I finally broke down & decided that perhaps my stomach could take it. Armed with rubber gloves, I dove in… & sure enough, here comes the gag-gag-vomit-cough-gag-gag. Lovely. Just writing about the toilet right now makes me feel decidedly queasy.
  • Movement: No, no, no. Boo to anterior placentas.
  • Food cravings: Red meat, cheetos, & carrot cake. Yum.
  • Gender: GIRL!!
  • Belly Button in or out? In-ish. It’s almost smoothed out, actually… it’s not out, but it’s not really in either.
  • What I miss: A tall & frosty Blue Moon with a slice of orange. There was a simply scrumptious one being consumed next to me at a restaurant this weekend, & I found myself glazing at it longingly.
  • What I am looking forward to: Feeling Miss PrissPot move… every time I write one of these weekly posts, I think “ok, maybe NEXT week will be the week.”
  • Weekly Wisdom: I’ve once again been scolded by Dr Obgyn for my reading material. During my monthly appt this past week, I expressed concern about some info that was in my weekly emails. My trusty Dr Obgyn rolled his eyes & told me that I need to “stop reading that bullshit.” Which made me laugh. But he then told me that if/when I start feeling truly anxious, to call his cell & he’d bring me in for a quickie checkup. He really is one of my favorite humans ever.
  • Milestones: Being 24 weeks, also known as SIX MONTHS along! It really feels like just the other day that I was updating this blog & sending out mass texts about beta levels…
  • Z4 is the size of: an ear of corn, or about a foot long. Only weighs a little over a pound though… she’s a skinny little nugget.
