Garden 2011

Bobby & I were actually productive in our yard today. Cut grass, weeded the garden & flower beds, raked leaves, trimmed bushes, & hung a new hammock since the old one had creepy stuff growing on it.

Garden 2011 is going relatively well — we planted tomatoes (better boys & cherry), cucumbers, green/red/yellow peppers, banana peppers, & did herbs in the raised bed (cilantro, parsley, basil, oregano, chives, dill, & mint). And baby veggies are starting to appear… I always feel such a sense of pride when I spy the first one, even though I really don’t have much to do with it.

baby pepper & king oscar

See the baby pepper (& King Oscar)? Maggie visited the garden the other day… she was petting the baby veggies, & I was frightened for their fate. Her little “pets” can turn into plucked pepper in mere seconds. I told her not to pick them & she smiled impishly… gotta love 3-yr-old destructiveness.

The evening ended with Bobby in the hammock & Oscar & me in the swing… a nice conclusion to this Saturday.

