• How far along? 19 weeks, 2 days
  • Symptoms? Am feeling increasingly unwieldy when bending, squatting, sitting on the ground (which I do a lot of at work), & such. Also short of breath a bit… vacuuming the house leaves my heart pounding like I’ve run a marathon. And hoeing the garden? Ha.
  • Baby-related purchases? Bought a classic white wicker bassinet this week. I know that most people use pack-n-plays in their bedrooms during the first few months, but our room is pretty small. Plus, I’m all about the pretty… & bassinets are just pretty. So I found one for half-price with free shipping & jumped on it. There’s a picture of me at age 4 peeking over the edge of a white wicker bassinet at newborn Jennifer… I keep seeing that picture in my head. This one’s just like it.
  • Maternity clothes? Oh yes.
  • Sleep: We went to Virginia to visit Mama’s family this past weekend… made me appreciate my bed so, so much. Their mattress was a bit firm (like perching on a boulder) & my hips were aching like a 90-yr-old woman’s by the time I got home. Oh Snoogle, how I missed you.
  • Best moment this week: My coworkers (yes, the ones who once planned a girls night out literally over my head) asked to throw me a baby shower. I teared up a bit, I did. Not only is it nice to have proof that I’ve finally been accepted (just in time to leave, but whatever), but it’s also surreal that I’M having a baby shower. I’ve been the hostess so many times. Suddenly I find myself on the receiving end. And it’s a lovely feeling.
  • Ickiest moment this week: My grandmother has a special way with words. When I say “special,” I mean that she sometimes says things that are just plain, well, not the nicest. You know, she’s of that generation that doesn’t do filters. Mama would call her out, & it was ok because Mama was her daughter  & she’d take it. But as her granddaughters, we don’t really have that option. I mostly laugh it off, but every once in a while, something she says will kinda poke a bit. This weekend was one of those times. We were chatting & she said something about my cousin’s wife was getting old (as in mid to late 30’s) & the quote was “Betsy & Sarah are in the same boat. Almost too old to start!” I just sat there. & Jennifer said “Sarah who? Abraham & Sarah? Yeah, she was pretty old.” I mean, I know I’m not in my 20’s like all the other reproducers in my family, but daggum, Grandma.
  • Movement: Nope. But check out this pose that babycenter sent me… it looks ridiculously uncomfortable. I’m fairly sure that I’d be flailing like mad if someone suggested I hang out like this:
  • Food cravings: Nothing new, really… the fruit fetish continues. I ate cantaloupe in bed last night. Is that normal?
  • Gender: Still dunno. 6 days til Gender Dinner!
  • Belly Button in or out? In.
  • What I miss: Beer again. Bobby sat on the front porch & drank a beer the other night & I was sad that I couldn’t join him. It just looked so cool & tasty.
  • What I am looking forward to: ANATOMY SCAN!! Can hardly believe it’s less than a week away! I can’t wait to see the Z & hopefully hear that he/she’s doing ok in there. And Gender Dinner that night…. yay, so I’m seriously counting the days!
  • Weekly Wisdom: Lots of pregnant women apparently have very small boobs. I, unfortunately, am not one of them. Therefore all the empire-waisted shirts laugh at me as I wander through the store. My freaking boobs were huge before Z4 came into the picture. Now?!? Yeah. Dude.
  • Milestones: I’m literally days away from being halfway. Halfway. That’s just completely unreal. I know I sound like a broken record but have I mentioned that I really, honestly never thought I would be here in this place? I still feel like I’ve been given this crazy-great surprise every morning when I wake up & remember. 20 weeks pregnant. Holy freaking cow.
  • Z4 is the size of: an heirloom tomato or a mango, depending on which website you ask. Coincidentally enough, I actually bought a mango for the first time this week.
