• How far along? 18 weeks, 1 day
  • Symptoms? Pee, pee, pee. That’s what I do. I used to actually pride myself on how infrequently I had to pee. A strange talent, I know, but one I enjoyed having. Now? I’m a freakin’ pee machine. And I’ve been told that I’ve “popped” this week. That’s another one of those weird pregnancy words that people use… whenever I think about it, I picture myself as a bulbous jack-in-the-box, springing wildly out of my little metal container. Probably not what they meant. But regardless of terminology, my stomach has grown substantially in the last week. So there you have it.
  • Baby-related purchases? Um, about that Coach diaper bag. I did it. SO EXCITED. Bought it “new with tags” off ebay, & decided to go with the black. I know that black isn’t exactly the typical baby bag, but I’m going to be carrying it, not Z4. And then afterward, I have a fabulous tote bag.

    gaze upon its beauty

  • Maternity clothes? Oh yes. There are a few non-maternity things that still work, but they’re slowly but surely being phased out to the nether regions of my closet.
  • Sleep: Been having weird-ass dreams lately. I can’t remember them, but I do remember sitting on the toilet at one point during the night (again with the peeing) & being really bothered by the dream that I had just exited.
  • Best moment this week: Bobby suggested that we go to Buy Buy Baby this past weekend, & so we did. In the stroller section, Bobby & another guy about his age had a stroller standoff… both were trying to fold their stroller in an efficient & manly way & neither one could figure it out. Bobby finally mastered his & it clicked close with one pull. The other guy was duly impressed with Bobby’s stroller-folding abilities & they unfolded & refolded it a couple more times, talking about how “awesome” the quick-fold feature would be in the rain. And I simultaneously felt the urge to laugh (is this really my husband having serious man-talk about stroller-folding?) & weep (Yes. This is MY HUSBAND. Who is finally getting to be A DADDY.)
  • Weirdest moment this week: One day this week, when the afore-mentioned “popping” was noted, there were 3 hands on my belly. At one time. And none of them were mine. I was too amazed to punch anybody…. it’s just so damn strange how people touchy-touch-touch with their little touchy hands. I’ve never been a belly-toucher. Is there something I’m missing here?
  • Movement: Nope. Sometimes I sit really still & wait just in case I’m missing it. But nothing.
  • Food cravings: Still loving my fruit. Sweets, not so much. And I’ve been drinking the heck out of some lemonade.
  • Gender: Still dunno. 14 days til Gender Dinner!
  • Belly Button in or out? In, but it’s getting shallower. I stuck my finger in it yesterday to gauge.
  • What I miss: Being skinny & tan. Oh wait. I haven’t seen either of those since college. Never mind.
  • What I am looking forward to: (Hopefully) getting a good anatomy scan report. Please, oh please, let Z4 be healthy.
  • Weekly Wisdom: Incubating a Z4 apparently makes me sassier than usual. Bobby has begun calling me “Flamethrower.” When I zap him with my wickedly sharp tongue, he touches his finger to his arm & makes a hissing, sizzling sound.
  • Milestones: When people ask me how pregnancy-related things are going, I no longer inwardly cringe. It’s starting to sink it. It doesn’t feel “normal” by any means, but I no longer feel the urge to look over my shoulder to see what lucky, fertile biatch they’re talking to.
  • Z4 is the size of: a bell pepper. And that’s apparently head to rump, not head to feet. Just in case you were wondering.
  • Advertisements