• How far along? 17 weeks, 2 days
  • Symptoms? I get full really fast these days. Only takes a bite or two to go from “omg, I’m starving!” to “omg, I’m gonna explode!”. And my ligaments are really misbehaving… whenever I sneeze, cough, roll over, sit up, or otherwise jar my abdominal muscles, there’s a shooting pain that literally stops me in my tracks. I’ve asked & it’s normal… just the ligaments stretching, or my bff, RLP. The gagging while teeth-brushing continues. Sore boobs continue. You know, just your average stuff.
  • Baby-related purchases? Nope, although I’ve become addicted to stalking designer diaper bags on ebay. It’s been so long since I’ve given into my Coach bag desires, & I’ve almost talked myself into several “pre-owned” ones on ebay. It’s hard to say no to The Call of the Coach. I’m plotting to cash in my AMEX points on a gift card…. that would totally justify such a ridiculous (but beautiful) purchase… right? RIGHT?!
  • Maternity clothes? Oh yes. I wore an all-maternity outfit for the first time this week… until now, I’ve been doing just pants. And I plan to venture back to Destination Maternity this afternoon to exchange a few things. Me going to a maternity store by myself? Craziness.
  • Sleep: I’ve been pretty freakin’ tired this week… by 9pm, I’m struggling. There was a scary storm a few nights ago, complete with thunder, lightening & falling tree branches (luckily, our cars escaped without injury this time). Bobby told me all about it the next morning because I slept straight through it. The only things that wake me up these days is needing to pee & my stupid hips… whichever one I’m lying on starts tingling & aching. I do a lot of flipping from one side to another, but it doesn’t hinder my enjoyment of sleep, sweet sleep.
  • Best moment this week: Parents at school are starting to realize that I’m pregnant. Several this week told me that I’m going to be a wonderful mother. It means a lot coming from them… they entrust their own little ones to me every day, & I figure if they say that, they probably mean it. And that makes me feel good.
  • Most annoying moment this week (& last week & next week): Gender disappointment. What the hell is wrong with people? Separate post to follow because this rant needs its own space.
  • Movement: Nope.
  • Food cravings: Still a fan of fruit, salad, tomatoes, cucumbers… freakin’ yum. And Chick-fil-a chicken biscuits are something that I sometimes long for, especially in the mornings after a bad teeth-brushing experience. It’s not the chicken as much as the biscuit… it’s like I can feel the bread just sitting in my stomach, soothing & calming things down. Yes, I’ve given this a lot of thought.
  • Gender: Still dunno. 20 days til Gender Dinner!
  • Belly Button in or out? In
  • What I miss: I still forget that I can’t drink. Jen, Tom, the girls, Bobby & I are going to the beach in a couple of months. I thought: We should take lots of mudslide & margarita mix. Oh, wait…
  • What I am looking forward to: Quitting my job!! Yep, it’s official. June 1st is my last day! I’m gonna miss the kiddos, but not enough to stay.
  • Weekly Wisdom: I’m struck regularly by the sheer weirdness that is pregnancy. There’s a HUMAN growing inside me. I know it’s supposedly very natural, but the concept itself is crazy to me. It’s like an alien takeover or something… suddenly, after 33 years of feeling a certain way, I physically feel completely different. And there’s the knowledge that there’s another little person present at all times. When I was younger & used the “royal we” (attempting to speak for others, or lend credibility to my own opinion), my grandfather would ask me “Who’s we? You have a mouse in your pocket?” Actually, now, the answer is yes. So weird.
  • Milestones: I registered us for childbirth class this week. Yes, Bobby & I will be attending CHILDBIRTH CLASS. There was a choice of a 4-week class, or one Saturday class for the “cliff notes” version. Being the nerds we are, we opted for the 4-week class… so starting in June, we’ll be spending 2 hrs every Tues night for 4 weeks talking about Z4’s entrance.
  • Z4 is the size of: a turnip. I’m not overly fond of turnips, but I’m completely ok with having a big fat one in my ute.
  • Advertisements