• How far along? 16 weeks, 2 days
  • Symptoms? Puking while brushing my teeth. Not every time, but enough to make teeth-brushing exciting. Night-peeing. And my hips freaking ache… weird.
  • Baby-related purchases? Nope.
  • Maternity clothes? Oh, I’m wearing them. I better, after the Budget Blow-out of 2011.
  • Sleep: So-so. The aching hips & peeing are giving me a clue as to what being a senior citizen will be like. Like a special little sneak preview. And Bobby continues to bitch about my Snoogle… apparently he doesn’t like the adult-size fuschia pillow that lives between us? Can’t imagine why.
  • Best moment this week: My 16-wk appointment with Dr Obgyn this morning. Love him. Lovelovelove. I asked him if he would definitely be the doc delivering Z4. His response: “Oh yeah, unless my leg is broken & I can’t walk. This baby’s been on my radar for awhile… no way I’m missing it!!” And when I left, he gave me a hug & told me that he loves to see me smiling. He’s the best. Truly.
  • Weirdest moment this week: Ok, this moment isn’t from this week, but I just realized that I didn’t share it & it cries out to be shared. My coworker… yes, the same one who wants to share her clothes & who groped my stomach… actually, I just realized that of the 4 posts that have included the “weirdest moment” category, this woman has been featured in 3 of them. Wow. She’s special. There’s no doubt.
    Anyway, back to the story. One morning as I come into work, she greets me cuddling & rocking a tiny baby wrapped up in a blanket. I work mornings in Nursery, so it’s not uncommon for there to be a new little munchkin that everyone passes around. She holds it out, & I just automatically take it… I mean, it’s a baby, why not, right? Then she starts giggling wildly. I look down & realize that she handed me one of those creepy-ass baby dolls that look really real, & it’s staring out of the blanket with weird baby doll eyes. I immediately jump back & say “EWW!” while dangling it by its leg. She says “You don’t wanna hold it? I brought it so you could practice!” & giggles again. I hand it back to her & tell her it creeps me out & makes me think of baby corpses. She keeps laughing & is telling the other teachers that she paid $200 for this doll as I escape to put my purse away. She swaddled it & laid it in one of the cribs… kept pulling it out to “trick” people with that maniacal giggle for the rest of the day. She’s a freak. A freak, I tell you.
  • Movement: Nope. Some of the girls on my Bump board are feeling things, but nada here.
  • Food cravings: Fresh produce is my friend. After my dr appt this morning, I went grocery shopping. Came out with 4 jugs of V8 & an assortment of pears, apples, oranges, tomatoes, grapes, cucumbers, avocados, salad, strawberries, blackberries, watermelon, cantaloupe, & plums that made the cashier blink.
  • Gender: Still dunno. The old wives tale about the heartbeat still predicts a girl.
  • Belly Button in or out? In
  • What I miss: People not looking at my stomach while I’m talking to them. The girls on my Bump board get so excited when someone notices their “bump,” but it just weirds me out when I see people’s eyes flickering between my face & my abdomen. I don’t know if I’ll eventually start to enjoy the attention, or not… but for now, it makes me squirmy & uncomfortable.
  • What I am looking forward to: Gender Dinner! Today I scheduled my 20-wk anatomy scan for Wed, Apr 27th. Bobby & I are going alone to the appt & getting through the stress of the anatomy measurements, is it healthy, etc. We’re asking the ultrasound tech to determine gender, but not tell us… to write it down & put it in an envelope. Then (if the scan results are good), we’re having a family dinner that night & opening the envelope together. Fun stuff!
  • Weekly Wisdom: Um, not feeling overly wise today. Just happy. Happy to be 16 weeks pregnant, happy to have a good appointment this morning, happy to have things like anatomy scans & hospital maternity tours in my future, happy that my kitchen is fully stocked with fruit. Happy.
  • Milestones: Miscarriage #2 was at 8 weeks. I’m officially twice as far along as I’ve ever been before. So completely incredible that this is happening.
  • Z4 is the size of: an avocado. I choose to believe that Z4 is one of those big avocados, not the little wussy Hass avocados. And my calendar says that the Z is the length of a dollar bill from head to feet. Huh.
  • Advertisements