• How far along? 12 weeks. TWELVE weeks, people. Although there seems to be some controversy, some would say that the 1st trimester is now complete.
  • Symptoms? Sore, gigantic boobs… like RAAAARRRR-I’m-taking-over-the-world!! gigantic. And the night-peeing continues. And my abdominal area is shifting. Dunno if you’d necessarily call it a “bump,” but it definitely no longer looks like my average, everyday chub.
  • Baby-related purchases? Not really. Bobby & I actually ventured into Buy Buy Baby last weekend & left feeling completely overwhelmed. My inner anal girl is freaking out a smidge that I haven’t started researching the hell out of carseats & bottles & video monitors. Luckily, my inner rational girl has been able to keep the crazy under control & away from google.
  • Maternity clothes? I finally broke down & bought new bras for the Gigantor Boobs, along with a couple of (supposedly) slimming camisoles. Dunno how slimming they are, but they most definitely help smooth things out & hold things in & up. And that’s about all I can ask from a mere cami.
  • Sleep: During our venture into BBB, I came out clutching a Snoogle. It’s a stupid word for an amazing pillow. It’s a little intimidating… I mean, how many pillows do YOU know that come with instructions?… but I’ve seriously slept better since getting this sucker. Last night, I only woke up one time to pee — & that’s a huge change from the flopping & flipping that’s been happening for the last few weeks. Mine is fuschia, because if you’re going to have a giant, strangely-curved pillow in your bed, a pink one is best.
  • Best moment this week: Finding Z4 at night with my trusty doppler for the first time. I’ve only been able to find him/her in the morning up until 2 days ago.
  • (Not) best moment this week (I’m adding this one to my little template): My first belly rub. Yes, someone (not Bobby) rubbed my bloated (not baby) belly. My coworker has no concepts of boundaries. NONE. I didn’t even see it coming & then suddenly she’s in my space & her fat little paw is touching my abdomen & I swatted her hand. Yes, I did. It was a natural reaction, I didn’t even think before I did it, but in retrospect, she totally earned that swat & maybe even a face-punch. Told my sisters that the next time she tries to touch me, she’s pulling back a nub. Just sayin.
  • Movement: Nope.
  • Food cravings: Fruit is my friend. Before I started writing this post, I was actually thinking about grapes. I’ve never really thought about grapes before — about how good they are, & how the green ones are my favorite, & I don’t know why anyone would ever intentionally buy seeded grapes when the seedless ones taste the same & are way less trouble. That’s an actual thought-stream directly from my fruit-obsessed brain.
  • Gender: Still dunno.
  • Belly Button in or out? In
  • What I miss: Beer. I feel better, the queasiness is gone, & I miss beer. Specifically Blue Moon with a slice of orange, Corona with two slices of lime, or a Dos Equis. I’ve briefly thought of trying non-alcoholic beer, but I don’t miss it that much. I may, however, be giving NA a try when the Carolina summer heat kicks in & everybody’s popping open a frosty cold one.
  • What I am looking forward to: I don’t even know. I’m just so damn grateful to be here. I’m excited about seeing Dr Obgyn tomorrow. I’m excited about going to his office & sitting in his waiting room for the first time without scoping the room for pregnant bellies (although I’ll probably still do it… it’s become ingrained). I’m excited about Bobby getting to “come out” on Facebook… he’s a facebook- & twitter-monger, & this “not telling” thing has really been cramping his style. I agreed that he could tell on his birthday, which is Saturday.
  • Weekly Wisdom: I heard something really smart this week, & it’s been replaying in my head. Someone read a Bible verse about overcoming your enemies. She pointed out that while our enemies probably aren’t people trying to kill us as in biblical times, they ARE things that suck the life out of us. Like unhealthy relationships, or grief, or bitterness, or fear. Or fear, fear, fear, fear — fear of loss, fear of being “that girl,” fear of the becoming too attached, too involved. Something clicked with me when she said that, & I realized that if I allow my fear of loss to cheat me of this experience, that’s gonna be MY FAULT.
  • Milestones: Twelve weeks. T-W-E-L-V-E weeks. Have I mentioned that I’m excited to be twelve weeks pregnant?
  • Z4 is the size of: a lime. Yuuuummmm. I LOVE limes. Especially in Corona. Oh wait… never mind…
  • Advertisements