• How far along? 11 weeks. Wow. I honestly never thought I would see this point of pregnancy.
  • Symptoms? Symptoms have really chilled out a lot. Honestly, at risk of angering the Miscarriage Gods, I’m shocked at how symptom-less this process has been for me. I mean, yeah, I felt a little bit like poo for a month or so, but it’s nothing compared to what I was prepared to deal with. No more nausea or gagging (even while brushing my teeth), no more food aversions. Boobs are still sore, but I’m used to it. & I get up at least twice a night to pee, but I’m (getting) used to it.
  • Baby-related purchases? Actually, I bought something that I didn’t even know would be baby-related, but I think that it’s destined for the nursery. A coupla weeks ago, Sarah @ callmeMama had an online auction for her pending adoption (hard to believe only 50 DAYS til her baby’s due date!). I purchased these prints… I truly love them & think that they may be my “inspiration pieces” for the nursery that may one day exist. Aren’t they lovely? They’re by Rachel Austin (click here for her etsy shop).
  • Maternity clothes? Nope. Jennifer mentioned something last night about going shopping, but I stuck my fingers in my ears & sang “lalalalalalalalala” until I saw her lips stop moving. Not really, but I’m not ready for that quite yet.
  • Sleep: Meh. Sometimes better than others. I like the Ambien idea mentioned in the comments on the “10 week” post… it’s on my list of things to possibly mention to Dr. Obgyn next week. I have always been a quiet sleeper, but apparently, I’ve become a snore-monster. Bobby woke me up multiple times last night begging me to be quiet. I actually feel embarrassed… being a snore-monster just seems so… unladylike.
  • Best moment this week: I told my coworkers this week! Them knowing has made me feel almost “normal” — they’re excited & they ask me normal questions that I honestly haven’t even thought of, & I realize just how much time I’ve spent in a state of smothering anxiety. I know that people knowing doesn’t lower my chances of something bad happening, but it feels nice to talk about the good stuff sometimes instead of fixating on the bad stuff alone in my own head.
  • Movement: Nope.
  • Food cravings: Apples. Big, crunchy, juicy apples. Granny Smith are my favorites, but I’ve also been pounding Red Delicious. Freakin’ yum. Oh, & oatmeal for breakfast. I haven’t regularly eaten oatmeal since I was in elementary school, but it suddenly tastes quite delectable.
  • Gender: Still dunno.
  • Belly Button in or out? In
  • What I miss: Wine. Bobby & I went to the Melting Pot for dinner this past Saturday night & I could smell the wine with my super-sonic nose… it smelled beautiful.
  • What I am looking forward to: Friday’s appt with Dr. Obgyn… I can’t wait to see him & hug him & tell him that he might, just maybe, be catching a baby in September. I’m hoping he’ll be able to give me an official due date.
  • Weekly Wisdom: I have yet to wake up & feel that it’s “normal” to be pregnant. And now that I’m beating some of my fear into submission, I actually enjoy realizing it every morning. It’s like a little happy surprise when my alarm clock goes off.
  • Milestones: Today, I found Z4’s heartbeat with my doppler!! I did! It was 155 bpm. I wept. And then the extermination guy showed up for our monthly spray & I answered the door in my pajamas with red weepy eyes. He treated our house quickly & left before the crazy crying girl snapped.
  • Z4 is the size of: a fig. Figs are big. Which means that Z4 is big(ish). I’m still having a hard time believing that I have a flip-flopping fig inside me. Crazy, I tell you.
  • Advertisements