• How far along? 10 weeks, 3 days
  • Symptoms? The peeing, oh the peeing. I’ve been getting up several times a night (except for that one night, which of course led to Freakout #45466432). Boobs are attempting to take over the world. The stomach bloat is quite noticeable. The nausea/gaggy feeling that would hit every day at mid-morning has subsided, although I’m still dry heaving every time I brush my teeth.
  • Baby-related purchases? A doppler, which during Freakout #45466432, did little to calm my ragged nerves. But I know that it’s still early… I’m sure that my doppler & I will be BFF’s in the coming weeks.
  • Maternity clothes? Uh, yeah, about that. I broke down & went clothes shopping… nothing maternity, but several new shirts that are loose & flowy & bloat-friendly. And then last night, still on an ultrasound high, I ordered a couple of things from Old Navy that might have been maternity-ish.
  • Sleep: Not going as well these days, which makes me sad. I was really enjoying my nightly coma. I now (usually) pee several times a night. And when I lay on my back (I’ve always been a back-sleeper), my legs start tingling. Jennifer gave me a body pillow that’s supposed to make sleeping in my left side more enjoyable, but that’s not quite happening yet. Bobby’s annoyed with the amount of flipping & flopping I’m doing here lately.

    Z4's profile from yesterday's appt

  • Best moment this week: Yesterday’s ultrasound, hands down. I felt like a different girl walking out of that office.
  • Movement: I can’t feel anything, but Z4’s a busy little beast in there. We got video yesterday of him doing some wild & crazy flapping & kicking.
  • Food cravings: Biscuits. Yummmmm…. Seriously, I dream of biscuits. And Panera Bread’s soup in a bread bowl. My fondness for tomatoes has recently shifted to oranges (with salt, of course). & greek salad from a little local restaurant around the corner… sans deli meat & with only the slightest bit of (fully pasteurized) feta.
  • Gender: Dunno. Most who know of Z4’s existence say boy, but I’m not convinced. The heartbeat during yesterday’s u/s was 163bpm, which according to the old wives’ tale, would indicate a girl. Yeah so… dunno.
  • Belly Button in or out? In
  • What I miss: Not Diet Coke anymore! After last week’s post, we had dinner at our bestgoodfriends’ house, & they had caffeine-free Diet Coke awaiting me. They’re pretty much the best :).  But what I DO miss? This past week, I went to eat Mexican with some girls from work, & one of them ordered a grande Dos Equis. My mouth actually literally watered when the waiter brought it to our table.
  • What I am looking forward to: Seeing my dear Dr. Obgyn. I love him, I do… Our appt is Friday, Mar 4th, the day before Bobby’s 37th birthday.
  • Weekly Wisdom: I must stop freaking myself out. I’m at a point in this pregnancy that if something goes wrong, it’s SOMETHING ELSE. It won’t be the same problems that I’ve had before… it can’t logically be, because I’ve never been here before. I need to believe that Z4’s gonna make it. I am pregnant until proven otherwise.
  • Milestones: I’m in the double digits for the first time ever. Pretty much everything that happens from here on out is a milestone.
  • Z4 is the size of: a prune or a kumquat. I am unfamiliar with kumquats, but it’s a super-fun word to say… kumquatkumquatkumquatkumquat.
  • Advertisements