Nah, I don’t think it’s twins, & the nurse who told me the number didn’t say anything except that it was “better than expected.” The 3rd beta is definitely higher than average, but it’s still in range (sort of). Here’s the chart from the American Pregnancy Assoc:

Yesterday when I had the blood drawn, I was 5wks, 4days…. basically 5.5wks. So 9333 is above the “5 week” level, but on the lower range of 6 weeks. And of course I read somewhere that high betas can be an early sign of Downs Syndrome, which scared the living bejesus out of me. Yes, whoever commented that “Google = BAD,” you were so right.

I can’t even fathom having twins on even the most theoretical level. Hell, I can’t really fathom a singleton either. Whatever’s in there, I’m fine with it as long as it’s alive & stays put. I really do feel like some sort of science experiment. I don’t know how to do this pregnancy thing — it’s feels foreign & strange. My previous 3 attempts were in a constant state of turmoil & upheaval… Calm? AND pregnant? At the SAME TIME?!?  That’s just crazy talk.

You may recall that I few days ago I ordered a little calendar with the condition that I couldn’t open it until Beta #3 came back ok. Because snow seriously freaks out my entire state, I didn’t receive the calendar until yesterday, which worked out perfectly. And I opened it. And I wrote in it. IN INK. And it’s now sitting on the kitchen counter, where I look at it several times a day & breathe into a paper bag. Kidding. Sorta.

