Awww, thanks, ya’ll! Your comments on my latest redecorating attempt make me feel all happy inside :)

This morning, Bobby & I woke up talking kids. I know, way to kick off a Sunday morning, right? Last month’s cycle didn’t work (obviously), despite my vitamin-popping, stick-peeing, fertility-monitoring, suppository-poking, non-wine-drinking, flawless-behaving self. I actually took a small cooler bag to Virginia with me to keep the progesterone on ice… couldn’t see sticking my prog supps in my Grandma’s fridge next to the homemade jam. That would be a fun explanation in a household of fertile-myrtles. Oh, never mind me, I’m just sticking this little magic bullet up my who-ha. Carry on with family dinner.

oh, the irony...

I seriously peed my way through an embarrassing number of pregnancy tests, to the point of asking Jennifer to pull over at a Walgreens on the way up to buy another fix. They’re like crack-rock, I tell you. Told Bobby I felt like a dog… every time I saw a stick, I felt an urge to raise my leg.

So this cycle hasn’t been quite as smooth. First of all, Day 1 was while I was still in VA & I didn’t have my fertility crutch monitor with me. When I got home, I held down the “m” button until it rolled around to Day 3. Then the batteries went dead. When I replaced them, the monitor had lost time & the cycle day was irreparably screwed up. So yeah, I’m counting this cycle the old-fashioned way… with a calendar. But the weird thing? There was fertile cm (not gonna write that out… you infertiles know what “cm” is & the rest of you don’t want to know) yesterday, which according to my best calculations, was Day 11. ELEVEN?! What the hell. Ovulation has been on Day 17 for, oh, about 3 years, then Day 14 last month, now Day 11? Things are wonky in my nether-regions.

But whatever. We’re trying again this month & we’ll see how it goes. But I’m calling tomorrow to make a January appt with the RE (I know, I know, I said I was going to do it last month, but I had this glimmer of hope that it wouldn’t be necessary). Bobby & I are completely on the same page that 2011 is going to be the year that SOMETHING happens. Our batting order (& this may change after our RE appt, of course) is:

  1. Have a glass of wine & relax. Oh wait, I’ve been doing that for 3+ years.
  2. Whatever the RE says (we’re open to pretty much anything — IUI, IVF, etc)
  3. something else
  4. Adoption

What is #3, you ask? That’s another post.

