Tags

, ,

I don’t know all the details of this story, but what I do know is bothering the hell out of me. But then again, I’ve been accused of being one of those overly sensitive infertiles, so maybe I’m just crazy.

There’s a girl who volunteers or works (not sure which) at a pregnancy crisis center. She counsels expectant mothers to help them make the right decision, whether it’s parenting the baby, adoption, or abortion.  Now here’s the part that bothers me:  she and her husband are currently in the process of adopting a baby from one of these expectant mothers.

Ok. Is this not a textbook definition of “conflict of interest”? How could she truthfully be objectively offering counsel when she obviously has/had an ulterior motive? Even if she didn’t go into this situation with the thought of “I’m so gonna adopt one of these babies,” it still seems ethically suspect to me. These woman come to the crisis pregnancy center during what has to be one of the most traumatic and vulnerable times of their lives, with an expectation of objectivity and confidentiality. Isn’t this pregnant woman being taken advantage of?

Moral of the story: All you ladies who are struggling to get/stay pregnant or who are stuck in the labyrinth of the adoption process, just head on over to the crisis pregnancy center and talk someone into giving you their baby. They’re already vulnerable, so you probably won’t even have to try very hard to convince them. Like taking candy from a, well, baby.

Unethical, much?

