Tags

,

Bobby and I worked through it all by ourselves (for now at least) without bloodshed or Dr Jerry. And then we managed to have a good evening. I fixed a super-healthy, low-calorie meal that tasted like ass, so we ended up heading to Wendy’s, then to Jen & Tom’s for some tivo’ed American Idol. I find AI thoroughly entertaining, even after 8 seasons.

It’s now Day 12 of our 90-Day Challenge, and I don’t feel like I’m making any progress. I’m doing ok with my daily water intake, but between Wendy’s and Tom’s birthday cake, my food choices have been just plain crappy. This week slipped away from me… I kept thinking “I’ll do better tomorrow” and now suddenly, it’s Thursday and we have to do our family weigh-in on Saturday. Well hell.

After watching Biggest Loser this week, I find myself thinking about easy it would be for me to lose weight and be healthy if I could just go stay at the show’s ranch. For those of you who’ve never watched the show, there’s a ranch where the contestants live, work, eat, etc. I think back to the times I’ve been in a controlled environment — Palmetto Girls State in high school, sorority sisterhood retreats in college, church events before I went and became a heathen. It’s so much easier to follow guidelines/rules when you’re surrounded by others who all have the same goal, without the temptations/stresses/worries of the “real world.” When I watch the show, I know that my goal is so minuscule in comparison. But that doesn’t stop me from wishing that I could crash the ranch just for a month.

And yes, in case you’re wondering, I am a confirmed reality TV junkie. Everything from the inspiration of the “Biggest Loser” to the hilarity of “American Idol” to the utter brainrot of “The Bachelor” (can’t believe I’m openly confessing to still watching that)… I’m a little bit ashamed of my tv intake, but not enough to stop. It’s yet another unhealthy thing to work on. Is it just me, or is the “things to work on eventually” list getting bigger instead of smaller?

Just found a list on Phil & Amy’s blog entitled “Renovate Your Life.” This seems to be the time of year that people are making lists…. and this one seems like a great one to at least get the wheels turning.

  1. Call a friend you haven’t talked to in a while. Yeah, I have a list a mile long. Ick, feel guilty every time I think about it.
  2. Get rid of things you don’t use and give them to charity. Since our yard sale last fall, I actually don’t have a tons of stuff in this category.
  3. Paint a room. I just bought a stenciling starter kit last week — I want to do a damask stencil in our bedroom.
  4. Read a book. This is one I’ve actually been doing regularly.
  5. Attend a worship service. The Christmas Eve service was the first time I had been inside a church in months… maybe even a year. I really do want to work on this one — it’s just a matter of DOING it.
  6. Tell someone how valuable they are. Did this last night… thus the conclusion to my & Bobby’s fight. This is something that I could (& probably should) do daily and it still wouldn’t be too often.
  7. Ask someone to forgive you or forgive someone who has wronged you. I need to spend some time thinking about this one.
  8. Plant flowers in your yard. Enter an overwhelming sense of overwhelmedness. I was in the backyard the other day, surveying the chaos and wondering where to start. Flowers intimidate me.
  9. Organize your closets. There are actually two areas that really need to be organized… our office/almost-nursery/2nd guest bedroom and the laundry room. I have no idea how to go about it — guess I need to just dive in.
  10. Do a crossword puzzle. YAY, I love puzzles…. actually did sudoku last night before falling asleep. There’s something very calming about having a defined problem that you know is solvable.
  11. Hug and kiss your kids. Yeah, we all know the status on this one. I hug & kiss Maggie… does that count?
  12. Make a dental appointment you have been putting off. Blah. I hate the dentist. I’ve missed my last two appts and now I’m embarrassed to go in because the appt girls are annoyed with me. Maybe I should just change dentists. Again.
  13. Tell your parents how thankful you are for them. That’s very complicated. Moving on.
  14. Make a scrapbook. What about digital scrapbooking? I’ve never tried it, but I think I could really love it…
  15. Buy a gift for someone …just because. Hmm, good idea.
  16. Tell your spouse you would marry them all over again. Yes, little list, you are correct… I need to do this.
  17. Visit a nursing home or hospital. Maybe.
  18. Volunteer at a soup kitchen. I’ve never done this… I should.
  19. Attend a weekend retreat. How about the Biggest Loser ranch?!? :)
  20. Ride in a convertible with the top down. Will do.
  21. Go to an amusement park. Dunno if I want to.
  22. Go to dinner with friends or host a party. This weekend, hopefully.
  23. Throw away your socks that don’t have matches. Blah. My drawer is full of them.
  24. Volunteer at your child’s school. Um, don’t have a child. But volunteering at a school is still a good idea. Actually volunteering ANYWHERE is a good idea.
