Tags

, , ,

This afternoon, I paid a visit to Lisa the Wonderful for a cut & color with a side of therapy. She’s great – honest to the point of tactlessness, but remembers everything you ever tell her and each visit, we just pick up where we left off the last time. We met Lisa a year ago a few weeks after Mama left, when, in desperate need of an escape, we called and begged for a last-minute appt for all three of us. Lisa took pity, and listened, cut, & colored while we dumped our entire sad tale and dripped snot and tears all over the hairdresser drapes. Since then, she has counseled us on forgiving our grandmother, the merits of psychics and tarot, relationship advice (mostly nailing Sue on this one), and whether a bob makes your face fatter or thinner.

Today, I was subdued – told her about the miscarriages, and she remembered that we were coming up on the year anniversary of Mama’s death. I told her I didn’t really care what she did to my head… just do it. So she painted me with a lovely auburn shade, then sat in the chair beside me and talked while it “set.” We talked about Bobby and his reaction to the baby & the miscarriage, how often I have massages (not very), and whether I’ve ever considered yoga and meditation. She’s very into the whole holistic wellness thing (starting with your hair, of course)… talked about the clutter in my head and body, and how I needed to “clear” myself. Walked out 2 hours later with an auburn bob and a list of wellness suggestions. Well worth the money, I’d say :)

And this evening, Jen, Sue, & I had a sister’s night out for the first time in a long time. Went to Kmart and loaded our purses with $1 candy, then smuggled it into the movies. Saw “The Women” – the reviews haven’t been that great, but I love Meg Ryan and enjoy the others (Jada Pinkett Smith, Debra Messing, Annette Benning, Eva Mendes, Bette Midler), so we headed off into a theater that was packed, PACKED, with females. We literally only spotted two men in the entire theater. And then the movie started, and about 2/3 of the way through, we realized that there had not been one male IN the movie either. All women, every single scene. We laughed and teared a bit and the mood was one of female camaraderie… Jen, Sue, and I loved it. It was perfect for this evening – funny, occasionally cheesy, sweet but not too, and just generally enjoyable.

And now I’m off to bed. Bobby and I are going to the Clemson game tomorrow – I’ve elicited a promise from him that we don’t have to tailgate, so we’re heading over just in time for the 12:00 game, and then back out. Really, really hope they win… the funk is almost overwhelming when 50,000 or so disgruntled fans go moping back to their beers & talk about firing Tommy Bowden. College football – it doesn’t really matter that much in the big scheme of things, but it’s a nice distraction, yes?

