Tags

, , , , , ,

[Excerpt from letter to Michele]

I was in the most horrible funk last week. I felt very sad and yucky, and cried a lot, and even left work early a few days because I felt too sad to function. It’s kinda funny that you were worried about me, because I was actually not doing very well at all – Bobby didn’t know what to do with me. It was like the sadness of my mom leaving just overwhelmed me – Jen, Sue and I found the Christmas gifts that Mama had bought for us in her room, and the sadness and grief felt like a weight crushing me. She had gotten us each a book called “Someday” by Alison McGhee (if you ever have a daughter, you should give her a copy), and framed prints of a painting she did for a fundraiser art project…. Ok, I’m not even going to think about it right now.

But anyway – that was my week last week and it was very, very bad, and I think that it’s a true testiment of what kind of friend you are because it was almost like you could sense the sadness all the way up there in Tega Cay :)

So…. I think my mom played a role in the house thing because she knew that I was falling into a very deep, dark hole. It hasn’t even really sunk in yet. I’m sending you the virtual tour if you want to take a look… It’s exactly what I’ve always wanted – built in 1927, hardwoods, crown moldings, french doors, even a white picket fence…. it already is what we were going to make the Weeks house into. And the story’s kinda funny because about a week ago, Bobby mentioned to his grandparents that we were looking for a house, but hadn’t really found anything yet. Bobby’s grandmother called him back that afternoon and said that she had found the “perfect house for Sarah” and gave him the address. Well, he forgot the address, and I just kinda blew it off…. then Saturday night, Bobby and I were clicking around on the internet looking for houses, and he recognized the address…. I took one look at the pictures and fell in love. We got in the car at midnight Sat night, and drove by it – it was perfect. So yesterday, I had to go to Bowman to visit my grandmother, but I told Bobby that I wanted him to follow up. Yesterday at 5:30, he called me from the house and said that the pictures were a completely accurate representation, and there was another couple there who had already been there 3 times, and if we wanted it, we needed to do it immediately. And I said OK!! I just bought a house that I haven’t even been inside, or seen in the daylight, for that matter!! His grandparents drew a contract up right there in the little dining room, and the seller signed it, and it’s a done deal except for financing. Our closing date is Feb 29th – leap day! :)

Below is a link to a virtual tour. I can’t wait for you to see it… heck, I can’t wait to see it myself :) Bobby, Jen, Sue, Tom, Maggie, Daddy and I are going over tonight to see the inside…. oh my gosh, I can’t believe that it’s real!

