Tags

, , , , ,

I must make this post short and sweet because I must start and complete my nap before Aunt Gin returns, because that means I’m headed to a BB King concert… Should I admit that I’ve never listened to a BB King song in my entire life? I think I’ll keep that a secret.

I am honestly so flabbergasted right now with everything that is going on that I really and truly don’t know what to say. Since I have left Sarah is threatening divorce, Jennifer…well I haven’t actually talked to Jennifer, Kathryn’s dad was diagnosed with Prostate cancer (or “Prostrate” cancer, as Daddy has said), and I am here in California. Doing what? Well, living in a paradise that is on fire at one end and freezing on the other. Is it ironic that none of these strange acts of nature started occurring until I arrived. I think so…

So here I am in California. So far I have discovered little, if nothing, about myself that I didn’t know already (Damn you Arnold on the “California” commercials, you’re a liar…well he is a politician so I guess that goes without saying, right?). I guess this is something that is supposed to happen gradually…

Anyway, I did have a moment on the beach today that I had imagined everytime I thought about coming to Cali. It was overcast, chilly, foggy and slightly wet, and I sat on a rock (that I told Aunt Gin I have claimed as my own) with my gray hood up and watched waves crash and had the beach completely to myself.

Well…To myself except for a very interesting man that I have decided I want to have a conversation with. I wish I had had my camera with me because it would have made a beautiful picture. It was this man probably in his 50s with a collie…and they looked just alike. He was stout with dark clothes on and walked with his hands behind his back as though deep in thought, and his dog had a beautiful dark face and was also large and regal looking and neither of them were overly friendly – not UNfriendly – just keeping to themselves. It made me happy to see them together – Man and Dog, so very different, yet so very similar. At least some things in the world make sense…

Also, I have decided to buy a bike. Why? Because a car is too expensive and I don’t feel like walking 5 miles a day. I think this is a good idea. And Aunt Gin actually has a friend who does bike things who said (before I ever arrived) that he wanted us to come to Santa Cruz to a fabulous bike shop and he would show us what was good and what wasn’t…

And also, I walked into Aunt Gin’s hairstylist in Pacific Grove (two small beach towns over) and she immediately said: “YOUR HAIR!!! Can I wash it?!” After getting into conversation with her I discovered she has made it her career goal to find out the secrets of hair like mine and has been working on this endeavor for some eleven years (since she was in cosmetology school). Well I guess if my mind is trying to sort things out, my hair should come a long for the ride…especially considering it is basically it’s own person.

P.s. I miss home. But not enough to come back just yet. So I’m glad my important people are coming to visit.

P.s.s. I find it amusing that when I am finally out of reach, Sam Koenig sends me obsessive text messages and phone calls about how much he misses me… HAHAHAHA. It’s okay, he’s not going anywhere…and I am. But if our paths cross in a few years or continue to run in an odd parallel, that’s fine too.

