Tags

, , ,

So the party’s almost here…. Hard to believe!

Jennifer’s doing the Walmart run today, and she did several things yesterday – it’s such a nice thing to be able to cross things off the list and I didn’t have to do them! And Rachel’s flying in tonight – her plane come in at 11pm, and she’s going to call when it touches down. Jennifer and I are going to pick her up tomorrow morning before we do our cake and balloon pick-up – it’ll be fun to visit with her. And I can’t wait until Mama sees her – she might be thrilled to the point of tears, just maybe.

Mama was being such a stress-ball yesterday – the lump on her head is getting bigger again, and she seems surprised every single time it happens. I guess I’m cynical and negative, but I just expected it – no chemo equals big bump. It sucks but there’s nothing any of us can do about it – she was crying yesterday and saying that “she’s just tired of this.” It’s like Jennifer said – I have no response to that. There’s nothing I can say to make it better, or fix it, or help her feel better. I just say “me too” – what else can I say?

I called Duke today and left a message with Dr. Marcom’s nurse, asking her to call me back. I don’t know if she will, but figured it was worth a try – if I don’t hear from her today or Monday morning, I’m going to call her again Monday afternoon, probably around the time that I leave here. Daddy keeps saying that we’re leaving at 2pm, but that’s just not going to happen. I would have to take a half-day, and I don’t have the hours to spend. We’ll just have to get up there late – it’s not a big deal, and there are going to 4 of us, so we can turns driving. Plus, it’s only a 4 hour trip – not much longer than driving to Bowman, which he does twice in one day sometimes. So whatever.

And Maggie Lawrence started really kicking this week – it’s very, very light, but Jennifer can feel her if she’s sitting very still. She kicked the Doppler last week – Tom and Jennifer said it was hilarious – that she kept moving it around, pressing in on her to listen to her heartbeat, and suddenly there was a “ziiiippp” noise, and the Doppler wand actually jumped off her belly – she kicked the snot out of it!! Too funny – she already has such a personality in our minds, and she’s only about 12 ounces – the size of a can of Coke. In 3 more weeks, she’ll be able to survive if she came early – I think that Jennifer, Tom and I are all counting down to that – even though I don’t think that anything’s going to happen to make her come prematurely, it’s still a relief to know that she’d probably still be ok.

