Today I felt like I was gonna crawl out of my skin… I’m on sugar detox after a month of holiday binging & it’s making me grumpy & droopy & generally mean. So “let’s go to the park,” I thought. “It’ll be fun,” I thought. I dressed Rose in a cute outfit that hasn’t been adequately photographed & put her in her car seat & slammed the door. Only to realize that my keys (& Rose) were both inside the car. And the car was now locked. I briefly contemplated the possibility of sitting on the curb & wailing. Instead I called Bobby & asked him to bring the (only) other key. Rose, completely oblivious to the crisis, kept happily waving through the window during this phone call. Bobby, who was in a meeting, told me that he was leaving & that it would take him at least 35-40 mins to get home. And I knew that the happy waving would end long before that.

So I stood & waved through the window & waited. And berated myself & waited. And Bobby called while driving & said “You tried the hatch, right? I mean, I’m sure you did” To which I reply, “Uh. No.” I mean, all the doors are locked. Why wouldn’t the hatch be locked? So I tried it. And it was unlocked. Of course.

The car alarm starts wailing & Rose starts wailing & I hang up on Bobby & go barreling over through the back & over the seat, getting wedged halfway, like a giant, fat alligator. Finally reach the front of the car & find my keys. Push the unlock button to stop the incessant horn-honking. Try to reassure Rose that regardless of the weird happenings of the last 20 or so minutes, everything is indeed ok. Decide to go to the park anyway.

So we drive away & I turn on Raffi & start singing loudly to “The More We Get Together”… do you know this song? It’s a happening little tune… “the more we get together, together, together, the more we get together, the happier we’ll be, cuz your friends are my friends and my friends are your friends, the more we get together the happier we’ll be.” And as I’m singing with much volume & jocularity, I notice that my giant 32-oz cup is turned over, & appears to be dripping through it’s straw. Drip. Drip. Drip. Lots of red Crystal Light drip-dripping out onto the light beige carpeted upholstery. There was literally a red raspberry-flavored pond in the floorboard.

I kinda wanted to punch this day in the face.

But go to the park we did, & we had a lovely time. I even got pictures before she sat in the mud & smashed blueberry donut into her eyebrows.

Image

